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APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD 

Florida Department of Health - Nassau County 

Office of Vital Statistics 

Office Hours: Monday - Friday  8 a.m. to 4 p.m. 

(Florida Death Records are available from 2009 to present) 
Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application:  Anyone may apply for a death certification. When cause of death information is also requested and the death 

occurred less than 50 years ago, a valid photo identification must accompany this application or if a mail request, a copy of the valid photo identification, front & 

back, must be provided; AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an eligible person as outlined in statute (see Eligibility on the back of this form).  

Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided at the bottom of this form when requesting cause of death.  If applicant is a funeral director or 

an attorney, see additional information under Eligibility on back of this form to ensure proper completion of this application.  

Acceptable forms of valid ID are:  driver's license, state identification card, passport, and/or military ID card.  When requesting a death certification without cause of 

death OR if the death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo identification is not required.  

SECTION A:  DECEDENT INFORMATION 

NAME OF DECEDENT 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX 

ALIAS NAME (IF APPLICABLE) 

IF MARRIED FEMALE, MAIDEN SURNAME (if known) SEX 

DATE OF DEATH 

MONTH DAY YEAR (4 DIGIT) ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SEARCHED 

(Required only when exact year of death is not known) 

Indicate the range of years to be searched 

PLACE OF DEATH 

PLACE OF DEATH CITY OR TOWN PLACE OF DEATH COUNTY STATE FILE NUMBER (if known) 

NAME OF SURVIVING SPOUSE AS 

RECORDED ON DEATH RECORD 

(if applicable and if known) 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST (Maiden, if applicable) SUFFIX 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

(if known) 

FUNERAL HOME NAME 

(if known) 

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or 

on any application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of 

the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes. 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

SECTION B:  APPLICANT (adult requesting certificate) INFORMATION 

If requesting cause of death, all applicants must state their relationship to the decedent; if a funeral director or an attorney, you must enter the relationship of the 

person you represent.  Eligibility requirements are provided on the back of this form. 

Applicant’s Name 

TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX) SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

PHONE NUMBER MAILING ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NO., IF APPLICABLE) RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

Funeral Director/Attorney as Applicant for Cause 

of Death Information 

LICENSE/ BAR NUMBER and THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT NAME OF PERSON REPRESENTED 

SECTION C:  COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT FEE INFORMATION 

Type of Payment: Cash__________  Check #__________  Money Order__________  Credit Cards__________ 

Cost 

Number of Florida Death Certificates Ordered with Cause of Death __________ @ $15.00 each $ ___________ 

Number of Florida Death Certificates Ordered without Cause of Death __________ @ $15.00 each $ ___________ 

FDOH Nassau Total $___________ 

For Office Use Only: 

Date: CDR/DR Signature: 

Audit Control #: 

DH 1961, 06/2013, Florida Administrative Code Rule 64V-1.0131 (Obsoletes Previous Editions) 



  

 

 

   

                   

 

  

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

   

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH RECORD APPLICATION 

AVAILABILITY:  Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, it was many years before we had 

consistent registration.  While there are some records on file dating back to 1877, not all events were registered. 

ELIGIBILITY: 

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of 

death. 

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION:  Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any 

applicant. Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to 

the following individuals: 

1. Decedent’s spouse or parent; 
2. Decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age;

3. Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in 

the estate of the decedent; 

4. Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named 

persons. 

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or a 

notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request. If after 

reading the above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our 

office (904) 359-6900 extension 9000 for assistance. 

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional 

license number, and the name and relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death.  If 

not representing someone identified above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed 

Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959) must accompany this request. SPECIAL NOTE:  Florida 

clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death information included when filing probate. 

INFORMATION NEEDED:  A search cannot be made without the decedent’s name and year of death.  If any of the other items 

requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents’ names, birthplace, etc.) may 
be helpful if multiple records are found for common names. 

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE:  Applicant’s signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and telephone 
number. 

COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT NAME AND ADDRESS 

                                                                   Department of Health in Nassau County

                                                                             Office of Vital Statistics

                                                          1620 Nectarine Street, Fernandina Beach, FL  32034

                                                                          PHONE:  904 557-9135       FAX:  904 428-5632
                                                         Office Hours:  Monday through Friday, 9 am to 4 pm

                                                      Visit us at our website at:  www.nassau.floridahealth.gov 

DH 1961, 06/2013, Florida Administrative Code Rule 64V-1.0131 (Obsoletes Previous Editions) 

http:www.nassau.floridahealth.gov
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