Birth Certificates Fees
$12.00 for one certified copy
$5.00 for each additional copy requested at the same time as the original request and on the same person.
The Office of Vital Statistics is responsible for the recording and issuance of Certified Copies of Birth Certificates. Recently, the Florida Department of Health in Nassau County, Office of Vital Statistics came on-line with the new State E-Vitals System and we can access birth records for anyone born within the State of Florida from 1930 to the present. Some of the early years have now become available, please check with our office.
To protect the privacy of sensitive information and to prevent identify theft, birth certificates are not public records. As required by state law, we restrict access to these certificates, but they are readily available to the individuals, family members and guardians or beneficiaries. We require individuals to produce photo identification and/or other documentation before releasing these confidential records or portions of the records.
Requesting Birth Certificates
The majority of the times, copies of birth certificates are requested for identification, to prove citizenship and for other purposes. The State Office of Vital Statistics, located at 1217 Pearl Street, Jacksonville, FL, maintains the original copies of the birth records from all counties within the State of Florida. DOH-Nassau provides you with a certified certificate that you can legally keep and use.Who can obtain a copy of a birth certificate?
Individuals 18 years of age and older may obtain their own certificate.
Parents or guardians (who present court documents showing legal custody).
Attorneys representing children and adolescents under 18. (Documentation must also be provided).
What Information is needed?
A valid form of photo identification such as a driver’s license, State ID issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, passport or military ID.
For mailed or faxed request, please provide readable photocopies.
A completed copy of the Birth Certificate Application Form
You will also need to provide the person’s:
Date of birth
County of birth
Mother’s full name including maiden name (for birth certificates)
Father’s full name (if applicable on birth certificates)
How soon may I expect a copy?
If your request is mailed, it will be processed within 2 business days from the day it is received from you.
If you come in person, your application will be processed immediately and usually takes about 15 minutes to complete.
- We accept cash, checks, money orders or major credit card (except Discover cards). Do NOT send cash by mail.
- All faxed requests must be paid by credit card (Each faxed request must include a legible copy of the credit card, showing the credit card number and expiration date and also a legible copy of a valid photo ID).
- All requests that wish over-night delivery please include a paid over-night envelope with your request or send additional money to cover the over-night fees.
How to obtain a copy of a birth certificate
1. Visit our main office at 1620 Nectarine Street in Fernandina Beach, FL (across the street from Baptist Medical Center - Nassau). We are open from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday - Friday.
2. Mail a request to:
Office of Vital Statistics
Florida Department of Health in Nassau County
1620 Nectarine Street
Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
3. Fax a request to us at: 904-277-7283
How to obtain a copy of a birth certificate if I was not born in the State of Florida?
Other State's Vital Record Information (Birth, Death, Marriage & Divorce) can be found through the Link to National Center for Health Statistics Website